Banyan

“Published since September 1843 to take part in a severe contest between intelligence, which presses forward, and an unworthy, timid ignorance obstructing our progress.”

My Economists subscription ended a while ago and I’ve since been viciously harassed by their caustic mail.

 

Kudos to the PR team behind The Economists for adeptly marketing their newspaper as an integral passport to being a part of an exclusive highbrow community of cultivated intellectuals. Thanks for pandering to our ego.

It occurred to me that two significant things happened in my two years of junior college: I joined debates and I subscribed to The Economists.

Intellectually, I grew immensely. My world view matured, my beliefs became more nuanced and my critical thinking (yes it’s that platitudinous phrase again) skills became sharper. Looking back, it felt like my brain was on steroids. I have little regret voraciously rushing to devour my issue of The Economists before the end of the week and eagerly awaiting the next issue. All in all, I believed that all these activities that I pursued in those two years – debating, devouring The Economists, having a rigourous education in the humanities (particularly history, which stringently sharpened my writing, and KI), all those seminars, etc, were all wholly mutually reinforcing.

In many ways, I owe a lot to those activities for this intellectual maturation (as well as my A Level grades, except for math which was merely the result of depressingly mindless grinding).

Comment

