Jolly Green Giant

In a matter of hours I will be a soldier (yeah, more like a scrawny kid in green fatigues).

I shall look forward to wearing a peace sign on my uniform and scribbling “BORN TO KILL” on my helmet. I shall look forward to losing my rights to being an individual in a fog of mindless regimentation. I shall look forward to wearing green for the next two years. I shall look forward to showing off my war cry. I shall look forward to psychopathically shouting drills in the barrack toilet at midnight. I shall look forward to catching up on my reading. I shall look forward to eating shit food.

So begins unceremoniously, two years of mandatory service for the nation. For queen and for country. No wait, for Yang di-Pertuan Negara and for country.

Comment

